CBQTHome Barn Quilts Where Are We? Get Involved Frequently Asked Questions Contact Us  

 
BARN QUILTS - Black Eyed Susan RTN to BARN QUILTS  


 
Black Eyed Susan


The Arts Council of Calvert County is pleased to announce the ninth installation on the Calvert Barn Quilt Trail. The Friends of Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum have chosen Maryland's State flower, the Black Eyed Susan, as the design to adorn the Visitor Center Barn.

In 1893, Mary Marvin Breckinridge Patterson donated one of the most important archaeological properties in the the Chesapeake Bay region. At the time, it was the largest private donation of a historical property ever made to the state of Maryland. Her gift created Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum. Today, it is a 560-acre working farm devoted to telling the story of the archaeology and history of the Chesapeake region, and to protecting the fast-disappearing rural environment of Southern Maryland.

Built in 1955 as a show barn for Jefferson Patterson's prize Aberdeen Angus cattle, this building was transformed into a museum in the 1960s. The museum showcased the Patterson's collections of art and memorabilia amassed during a lifetime of public service and travel. Today, the building serves as the Visitor Center including exhibits, interactive play areas and a gift shop. The Visitor Center is the ideal place to begin your journey at the park. After viewing the Black Eyed Susan square, learn about the history of the property, the science of archaeology, and browse the "Made in Maryland" gift shop, Past and Presents. All proceeds from the gift shop support the Friends of JPPM, a 501(c)(3) organization that supports educational programming at the Park.


Location:

Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum
10515 Mackall Rd.
St. Leonard, MD 20685

38.398556, -76.506889

  

Home     Barn Quilts     Where Are We?     Get Involved     FAQs     Contact Us